Making My Way to Minis On the Dragon

IMG_4749_2

Starting mileage for the #MOTD13 Road Trip

 

Every year hundreds of Mini Cooper enthusiasts gather at the Tail of the Dragon to show off their mods, make new friends, and most importantly, drive! Since I bought My Precious last fall, I’d heard a lot about the MOTD and when I found out it fell on my birthday I thought it would be the perfect way to celebrate.

Most of my DC Metro Mini mates who were going were planning on driving down on Sunday but I had a couple of days of work to catch up on and couldn’t get out until Wednesday. Thankfully my friends Melissa, Rey, and his lovely wife Jessie were going on Wednesday as well. Since it’s always more fun to caravan we decided to meet at Rey’s house in Manassas and leave from there.

IMG_4403

Lining up to caravan

Melissa wanted to stop for coffee so the rest of us headed out to meet her at Starbucks. We had a quick drivers meeting and then pulled out. Rey led the way and Melissa was our sweeper.

IMG_4404

Drivers meeting before the caravan to #MOTD13

 

Its 520 miles from my house to the cabin at Fontana Village. Waze routed us down the 81 and then through Asheville NC. We stopped at a rest stop, ate a quick lunch in the Burger King parking lot in Christiansburg Va, filled up our tanks and made it to the cabin before 6.

IMG_4409

A quick break on our way to #MOTD13 and My Precious still looked fantastic.

Our cabin was at the top of Shuckstack Road. The rest of our cabin mates had gone out to dinner without us.

IMG_4419

Where did everybody go?

 

Lucky for us, Melissa had packed spaghetti sauce and noodles so we made our own and ate a quick dinner on the front porch.

IMG_4416

Melissa makes the best end of the run spaghetti I have ever tasted. Hands down.

 

When the rest of our cabin mates arrived home, we all headed out to the Skirtapalooza, an annual event thrown by the Miniskirts (one of the clubs I joined!)

There was a pirate theme for the evening, free beer and a live band, but my favorite part was the photo booth. We danced on the deck, dressed up in silly hats for photos, and generally had a lot of fun. I had no idea the fun level would rise exponentially from there on out…

IMG_4737

I love a nice prop.

 

About isherri

I'm a family engagement expert who travels for work and for pleasure. In fact, I’m half hippy, half clown, latte sipping, brunch munching, MINI driving, rabid social media enthusiast.
This entry was posted in DCMM, Life Story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making My Way to Minis On the Dragon

  1. Ali says:

    I am looking forward to more stories of this amazing trip and your birthday celebration

    Like

  2. Barry says:

    always love reading the experiences from a “newbies” point of view 🙂

    Like

  3. Al says:

    Glad you could make it. Miriam and I were honored to share with you. I especially enjoyed pairing up for Kareoke.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment